Facebook is launching a new feature called Manage Activity that lets users delete their old posts. It can be used to remove individual posts or in bulk.
Facebook says it will offer filtering options to help find posts with specific people in them or in a certain time range. The feature will come to Facebook’s mobile apps first.
According to Facebook, the feature is meant “to make it easy for you to curate your presence on Facebook to reflect who you are today more accurately.”
As an example, it suggests that someone might want to delete old content when they’re about to start working full time after college or eliminate posts that remind them of a past relationship.
There are many options to remove a post from the timeline. It can be sent to the trash, where it will be removed from public viewing immediately but only permanently deleted 30 days later.
(Posts can be manually deleted sooner.) Alternatively, a post can be archived, which means it’s no longer public but can still be viewed privately.
Manage Activity is Facebook’s newest try to give users more control over their data. Last year, it finally published its Clear History tool, which lets users disconnect their web browsing data from their Facebook account.
But wait for a minute, Clear History doesn’t delete this data; it just removes the connection within it and your Facebook account.